top of page

Yosemite National Park


Camping in Yosemite is something I've been doing since I was a little kid. Just thinking about the park makes me nostalgic for campfires, swimming in an ice-cold river, and stunning hikes. Yosemite remains to be one of my favorite places on Earth.

It's also a favorite of many others around the world, which makes it extremely difficult to secure a campsite in the valley. When I decided I wanted to try to camp in the Yosemite Valley with a group of friends in July, we had to start preparing in March. On the morning of March 15th, my friends, brother, parents, and I each waited behind a computer screen for the clock to strike 8. Then, we all clicked rapidly, hoping to reserve at least one campground. My brother ended up being the victorious one of the group, securing a campsite for 3 nights on the exact dates we'd hoped for.

Finally, July rolled around and it was time to camp. My boyfriend, Nico, and I drove down from Tahoe and entered the National Park from the eastern entrance, a way I've never gone before. We camped at Lower Pines Campground #33 with my brother, Ryan, and our friends, Anna, Robbie, Kristen, and Josh. My dad also got a campground at Upper Pines for 2 of the same nights as us. Back when he was helping us secure a site in March, he got the spot and decided to keep it after I told him we'd be taking Ryan's campsite.

Once everyone was together and camp was set up, we decided to drive to Glacier Point to watch the sunset. Now, if nobody has told you, let me be the first to say that driving out of Yosemite Valley in the late afternoon is a mess. As soon as we got on the road, we were stopped dead in traffic. After barely inching along for some time, the group decided we should just try to turn around. The thing is, most of the roads are one way so we had to wait to keep going forward before we could turn around. But, once we finally got to a turn around point, traffic was moving and we decided to continue on to Glacier Point, which was a great idea, by the way; everything was so beautiful.


Nico & Me


Half Dome


Pretty Anna


Josh & Kristen


Sunset from Glacier Point


Ryan


Back at camp we had tortellini for dinner (provided by me, Anna, and Ryan) and then went to bed early to rest up before the big hike the next day.

On Tuesday morning, we woke up at 5am to hike Half Dome. This was another thing we had to prepare for ahead of time as you need a permit to go up the Half Dome cables. The Half Dome permits are distributed by a lottery at the beginning of the summer. They were easier to secure than a campsite because you could apply for them whenever. You just had to be lucky enough to win them.

The whole hike has an elevation gain of 4,800 ft and is between 14-16 miles long depending on if you take the Mist Trail or the John Muir Trail (I like to take the John Muir Trail back because it's easier on the knees).

There are two waterfalls that we passed on the way up the mountain. The first falls is Vernal Falls and the second is Nevada Falls. I've done the hike to the top of Nevada falls many times before, which is a beautiful and shorter hike for anyone who doesn't want to make the 14 mile trek up Half Dome. We stopped briefly at the top of Nevada Falls for a snack and then continued on to the part of the trail I'd never seen before (which is probably the easiest part of the hike until the switchbacks).


Robbie at Vernal Falls


Me & Nico at Vernal Falls


At the top of Nevada Falls

My dad's advice to the group was to take your lunch after the switchbacks before you're in site of the cables. This way you have the fuel to get up the most challenging part of the hike and you're not psyching yourself out by looking at the steep face. For lunch I packed myself a turkey sandwich on sourdough with BBQ chips inside for added crunch (a favorite of mine for hikes).

After lunch, we stopped briefly before the cables to take a few photos but not long enough for anyone to back down. And then came the assent. The climb up the side of Half Dome started off steep...and then it got steeper. I was thankful to have brought rubberized gloves to pull my body up the side of the rock. I wished I had done some push ups beforehand.


Robbie, me, Nico, Anna, Josh, & Kristen in front of the cables

The most challenging part of the cable section for most people is overcoming the mental fear. I, however, felt relaxed and in control of my body. Every step I took was sturdy. Every movement I made with my hand secured around the cable. I knew that if I slipped, I probably wouldn't live...but I knew I wouldn't slip.

When we finally reached the top, we were greeted by my dad with hugs and an unbelievable view of Yosemite Valley. We stayed up there for a little while before deciding to head back down. The descent was the worse part for me. My knees cried out in pain as we slowly re-entered the valley. Nico, Anna, and I took the John Muir trail down, adding about 2 miles to our journey but saving ourselves the pain of enduring the steep steps of the Mist Trail.


Anna at the top of Half Dome


Anna and I posing in front of Nevada Falls on the way down the John Muir trail

Finally we made it back to camp. I collapsed in a chair by the campfire, sure I would never walk again. My dad stopped by our camp with Advil and an IPA (a combo I don't usually recommend but found necessary in this situation). We had grilled sausages for dinner provided by Kristen and Josh. Those paired with a couple beers created the perfect ending to our day.

The next morning, Kristen and Josh had to leave Yosemite and head back to work. Nico, Anna, Robbie, Ryan and I took the day to relax and recover from the hike. To my surprise, I was able to use my legs again. We spent the day swimming in the river and lying out in the sun.


Chillin at the river

That evening we went to Curry Village (now called Half Dome Village) to use the showers. There are pay showers at the village for everyone to use or there are free showers for the Curry Village campers to use, accessed with a combination code. We were able to use the free showers by asking someone for the code. For dinner, Nico and Robbie made chili verde burritos.

On Thursday morning, we packed up camp and drove back home. Yosemite always leaves me feeling whole.


View of Half Dome leaving the valley


Video


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page