top of page

Chicago


I recently had the amazing opportunity to go to Chicago to watch two of my dear friends get married. While I was there, I got to catch up with my good friend, Shannon, and stay at her sweet downtown apartment.

So, while I don't have anything to say about cool hotels or Airbnbs to stay in, I've certainly got info on some very tasty food and a few Windy City activities...

Activities

Since this was actually my third visit to Chicago, I didn't do some of the touristy activities that I've done in the past. I still think a lot of them are worthwhile, though, so I've decided to include some of them in this post...

The Bean

This trip (and the 2 visits before it) I visited the Bean AKA Cloud Gate, the giant reflective sculpture located in Millennium Park. It's probably one of the more touristy things to do in Chicago and can get very crowded, especially on the weekends. Millennium Park is also a great place to go for a walk. It's large and there are many places to explore with great views of the city skyline.



Fall colors in the park

Bikes on the Beach

Chicago, like many big cities, has a bike rental service in which you can pay to ride a bike and drop it off at any designated bike stop in town. I'm not the biggest fan of riding a bike along the busy city streets but I certainly enjoy biking along Lake Michigan. There are Divy bike stations all along the beach so it's easy to pick up a bike and then lock it back up when you want to put your feet in the sand or gaze up at Chicago's skyscrapers.


Skydeck

The Willis Tower is the tallest building in the Western Hemisphere and visitors to Chicago have the option to see the Skydeck, which offers views of Chicago and beyond. On a previous visit, Shannon and I walked out onto the Ledge, a glass box positioned 1,353 ft above the ground. It's a sensation like nothing else to look down between your feet at tiny cars and people passing by. This attraction can also get very busy so Shannon and I beat the lines by visiting at night.

Architecture Tour

Also on a previous visit, I took an architecture tour of the city. While being guided down the Chicago River as it winds its way through the city, I learned a lot about recent and past innovation and the impact of historical events such as the Great Chicago Fire of 1871 as they affected the city.

Food & Drink

Like in any large city, you could eat something new and delicious everyday until you die (and still not have tried everything). There are some of the obvious choices like getting deep dish pizza or (if you, like me, are not from the Midwest) trying Shake Shack for the first time. But there are plenty of non-obvious choices too, many of which tend to be last minute surprises, but part of the fun of visiting Chicago is not knowing exactly what you're gonna get.

Mahalo

On the first night, Shannon and I went to Mahalo for dinner. It's a very cute & well decorated Hawaiian restaurant located in Wicker Park. We split a Big Kahuna --a tasty rum drink served in a whole pineapple. Dinner was also quite good. I enjoyed the Huli Huli chicken. Overall, the place had a fun atmosphere and yummy food.

Barcocina

For our second night out, Shannon and I headed to Barcocina, a modern Mexican fusion restaurant with a cool vibe. We decided to share tacos, ordering Korean Short Rib, Greek Chicken, and Adobo Steak. Although not your traditional tacos, they sure were tasty.

El Hefe

If you still have any doubts about me liking tacos by the time you finish this blog post, you haven't been reading close enough (heck, you could skim this and know that I'll be ordering tacos when we go out for Mexican). El Hefe has more of a bar feel than a restaurant but damn, their food is good. Plus, who doesn't crave a taco after a drink or three?


Three Dots and a Dash

Does a girl need a tropical drink 2 nights out of 5? Yes, this girl does. Although a little pricy in my book, Three Dots and a Dash makes a mean cocktail with style. The bar is "hidden" behind a subdued front in a quiet alleyway but once inside, it's hard to ignore the thoughtful design that went into both the decor and the drinks. I ordered a painkiller for myself (my alltime favorite tropical beverage).


The Cozy Corner

Located in Oak Park, the Chicago suburb where Jenn and Max got married, is a cute little brunch place called the Cozy Corner. Their menu has a nice mix of classics, like omelettes or eggs benedict, with a few upgrades, like the cinnamon swirl pancakes, which I really enjoyed.

Jeni's Ice Cream

Located next to Mahalo in Wicker Park, Jeni's was the perfect place to get dessert even though we really didn't need it. Jeni's is known for having a few really interesting flavors (such as sweet corn & black raspberry) alongside well-loved classics (like salted caramel). They had a bit of a line when we visited, which I'm guessing is a norm for such a popular place.

Lou Malnati's

To get our fix of deep dish pizza, Shannon and I went to Lou Malnati's (both the first time I visited and this return trip). They have locations all over Chicago so it's really hard to miss this on your trip. The pizza is excellent but even better (in my book) is the deep dish cookie. It is literally a large, gooey chocolate chip cookie baked in a deep dish pan. This thing is so good that the first time I tried it, I ordered it again the very next day.


Carnivale (Honorable Mention)

The first time I visited Shannon, we went to Carnivale, a colorful Latin-fusion restaurant located in Chicago's West Loop. Because it's been awhile since I dined here, I can't remember what I ordered, but I do remember there being tacos and I remember the decor was lavishing.


Went through the old photos and discovered we had tacos... surprise, surprise

Summer House (Honorable Mention)

Yes, I can see the irony in leaving California to come to Chicago only to find myself at a Santa Monica styled restaurant. But it was SO. DAMN. CUTE. During my first visit with Shannon, I remember enjoying Summer House's beachy atmosphere and tasty food. I'd definitely come back for a visit sometime.

When I started writing this blog post, I had no idea how much of its focus would be on food. I do think, however, that it nicely illustrates my mindset (in regard to the food:activities ratio) when I travel. That being said, the real question is, how does Shake Shack compare to In-n-Out? I find the two to be in separate classes of burger and thus uncomparable. Shake Shack falls in the "classic diner" category that I associate with old-school drive-ins and poodle skirts. In-n-Out has its own category. It is a California lifestyle and cannot be compared with an establishment that resides in a different league. Both burgers are great and this critique might seem overly-dramatic, but that's how it's going to be at times.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page