top of page

Lagos

Updated: Nov 20, 2018


After traveling on the overnight train from Madrid to Lisbon, Nico and I stressed out about finding our bus to Lagos in the morning (apparently there was a different station we needed to get to). We eventually found our way and finished our journey to the Southern Portuguese city of Lagos.

Hostel

The hostel we stayed at was called the Stumble Inn. It had a very relaxed feel to it and a surfer vibe that made me feel like I was home in Santa Cruz. The staff were very friendly and had lots of recommendations about where to eat and what to do. The Stumble Inn is a great hostel to meet other travelers. There is a nice communal area outside where backpackers would often eat meals and the hostel hosts a pub crawl every night. I'd definitely recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Lagos.


Photo from the interwebs

Activities

After arriving in Lagos, Nico and I hightailed it to the beach after a long day/night/morning of nonstop travel. The water in Lagos is a pretty turquoise color but the temperature is cold like the Pacific Ocean I'm used to at home. Nico swam in it anyway and I made it in about thigh high.



Happy to not be on a bus or train

On our second day, Nico and I hiked along the Lagos coast, taking in the ocean-carved rock formations and grottos. We discovered a very delicious cherry soda at a bar down the trail a ways. That evening, we went for a kayak ride up the coast to explore the coves from below. This was a really cool experience, however, I would recommend taking a trip earlier than 5 pm. A boat towed us back to the beach and I was sprayed with freezing water as we bounced along the wake.
















Food

Both nights Nico and I were in Lagos, we got Indian food (from 2 separate restaurants). It was really delicious both times we went. On night one, we visited Komal Indian Restaurant and on the second night went to Maharaja Tasty Indian. I guess we were just really craving Indian food and dreaming about the dinner we had had back in Munich. I really can't tell you which one was better. I think Indian food from Europe is just amazing in general.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page