top of page

Granada


I was very excited as I boarded the train because I knew this trip was going to be very different from the other travels I'd had during my study abroad. I was going to meet up with Dad and Barb and head to Granada. Traveling with parents is very different than traveling on your own or with friends. First of all, the standard of living is much better because, well, Dad has a steady income so we will be staying in a hotel, not hostels, and eating out at nice restaurants. Also, everything was a bit more planned and, I must say, I felt a weight off my shoulders not having to worry about figuring out how to get from point A to point B or planning the activities for the day.

So, I took the train from San Sebastián to Barcelona where I met up with Dad and Barb. We had paella and sangria for dinner, which was lovely. It was nice to have the "typical Spanish meal" since it's not that typical in the Basque country (nor are most stereotypical images you may have of Spain). After dinner, we boarded a night train to Granada. We booked large seats that folded back but I had the worst night's sleep ever. To anyone taking the night train, I would recommend spending the extra money to have a bed, especially if you plan on being awake and out and about the next morning. The train seats were awkward and I found myself sliding down the backrest into a slumped-over mess in the chair. It was more comfortable to have my seat in an upright position.

Okay, with that all said, we finally made it to Granada. We stayed at the Hotel Alhambra Palace, which was a beautiful hotel. It is fashioned after the intricate details of the Moorish architecture of Granada. The hotel had beautiful archways, keyhole windows, and a stunning view of the city of Granada. It sits perched on a hill within walking distance of the Alhambra and the beautiful surrounding forest.


View from the hotel

After dropping our bags off, we decided to take a walk through the city. The streets are narrow and there are lots of people who try to stop you to buy something. Dad got roped in to paying for an overpriced shoe shine and ladies in the street would try to "give" my a twig of rosemary. They were very angry every time I rejected them. Many of the shops sold glass lamps and colorful tapestries. The lamps were exactly like one that I'd bought a few years ago in Turkey and most of the tapestries were probably made in India, but I bought one anyway. It was colorful and I thought it would look awesome on my wall (it does).

Then we took a tour of the Alhambra. It was a very intricate and beautiful building originally built in 889 AD as a fortress. It was redesigned to look most like what it resembles today by the Moors in the mid 13th century and was converted to a palace in 1333. The Alhambra was a refuge during the Christian Spanish Reconquista and then became the Royal Court for Ferdinand and Isabella. The beautiful details in the structure's design were like none that I had ever seen.


Roses and the Alhambra







Dad





Later that night, we went to a Flamenco show (also a Spanish tradition not found in the Basque country). We were squeezed into a tiny room set up inside a stone cave with enough other people in the nooks and crannies to upset any American fire marshall. The show was great. I'll never understand how a human can move his feet so quickly while staying on beat with the fast strumming of the Spanish guitar. They also gave us a complimentary drink, which made up for the lack of legroom.


Flamenco Cave

After the show, we needed some dinner but it was late and rainy so, surprisingly, not much was open at 11 pm in Spain (yes, this is what I was used to, not the typical 9 pm closing time you'd expect in California). So, we found a kebap place, which we know are always open late to feed the drunk international students.

The next day, the rain still lingered so we ended up taking a tourist train around. I can't remember much about this train ride so if the weather is nice, I'd recommend skipping it. Later in the day, however, we went to an Arab bathhouse, which was super cool. The place we went was called Hammam al Andalus. On the outside, it looked like a simple apartment building but inside the spa was dim with candles and keyhole style doorways that opened up to various baths of different temperatures. After some time of relaxing in the water, I was told it was my turn to get a massage. The difference with this massage, was that my therapist wrong a large cloth over my body, releasing a lather of bubbles that she scrubbed and massaged onto my body. It felt very nice and was an exciting new experience. I left feeling soft and relaxed.


Picture from the Internet

That night we went to a tapas bar called Poë. It was amazing! The tapas were unique, delicious, and inspired by various cultures. Every drink came with a free tapa. The bar attracts people of all different nationalities traveling through Granada so I felt right at home being amongst other travelers.


Sadly not my photo, happily the same food I ate

Sadly, I had to leave the next day to get back to school. I hope to return to Granada again someday to explore it and other cities in southern Spain.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page