top of page

Antigua

Updated: Nov 20, 2018


Antigua was probably my favorite stop on our cruise trip. After our Royal Caribbean ship made port, our group (me, my mom, Jeff, Laura, George, Carol, Kyli, and Travis) taxied over to a smaller harbor in St Johns where we would find our ride for the day: Cat Tales II. The catamaran is owned and operated by Captain James and his wife, Sherrill, a couple from the UK who now spend half their time living in Antigua. They are both very friendly, personable people who go out of their way to make sure you're having a good time.

Cat Tales II sailed out along the coast of Antigua until we reached Cades Reef. It was such a beautiful and relaxing day. This was the first destination that had mostly sunshine instead of gray, cloudy skies. Captain James and Sherrill passed out complimentary homemade rum punch to us as we lounged out on the net. It was delicious.



Kyli and my momma


The Antigua coastline


Enjoying a rum punch


Kyli, Laura, Carol, George, Mom, Jeff, me, Travis

Once we reached the reef, we all hopped into the water to snorkel. They provided us with this strange snorkel mask that covers the whole face so you can breathe in and out through the nose as normal. The mask is called the Tribord EasyBreath and I absolutely loved it.


Stylish

The reef was full of really beautiful tropical fish. Once again, other people in the group saw sea turtles but I did not. I did, however, see the largest lobster to probably ever exist (no joke). It honestly freaked me out and I had to get out of that area as quickly as I could.


I mean look at this guy




After snorkeling, we enjoyed lunch on the boat provided by our incredible hosts. We had homemade spiced chicken and Greek salad with either rose or white wine. The rest of the day was spent relaxing on the catamaran, drinking wine and rum punch. The sky stayed sunny overhead, illuminating the turquoise water.







That evening back aboard the Adventure of the Seas, we went to an ice show and then to dinner. Yup, on a Caribbean cruise there is an ice rink, because that makes sense.

Video


Also shows Puerto Rico, St. John, St. Croix, St. Lucia, and Grenada

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page