top of page

Sidrería Round 2


The Basques can’t keep me away. I’ve already had the cider house experience twice and my time here isn’t even halfway done yet (well it almost is). This time I went to a different cider house and with only 5 other people.

This cider house was much larger, and apparently it’s more well-known. At first, I thought that that would mean it’s more touristic, but I’m pretty sure we were the only group of foreigners. Apparently, it was obvious too. Every time we would walk past this table of drunk Basques, they would start chanting, “U-S-A, U-S-A…”

Anyway, the name of this cider house is Petritegi. The cider and food was excellent and the Basque people here will gather together and sing! This is another tradition, here in the Basque country. Bertsolaritza is the art of singing songs with versus that are made up on the spot. There are only a few melodies and rhyming patterns that the bertsolari (singer) can use and there are competitions held occasionally in which the bertsolari is given a topic, and he or she must make up a song around that topic. I had an amazing time!


After this was taken, nobody came up behind me to take the stream and the guy didn't turn off the spout. Somebody accidentally stepped into the flow! Oops!


Tortilla de bacalao (cod omelette)


Peter, Kenna, Allison, and me


Green peppers and bacalao


Photo opportunity barrel


The traditional very rare meat


For dessert, cheese, cigarillos, and walnuts, with a side of Hallie's boobs

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page